The world is huge

Don't miss any of it

Travel news, itineraries, and inspiration delivered straight to your inbox.

By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.


U.S. to Replace 14-Nation Screening

Reuters reports that the U.S. will replace its controversial program of mandatory screenings for individuals from or traveling through 14 nations considered supporters of terrorism. In its place, the government will implement a strategy of targeting screenings.

According to Reuters, “The new measures would require a traveler to undergo additional screening if they match information about terrorism suspects gathered by intelligence agencies, such as a physical description, partial name or travel pattern.”

The new approach, aimed at significantly reducing the number of unnecessary screenings, follows criticism at home and comes after many of the 14 nations objected to the rules. Saudi Arabia, Algeria, and Nigeria, in particular, felt wronged because they have helped the U.S. battle al Qaeda.

The 14 nations included in the current policy are Afghanistan, Algeria, Cuba, Lebanon, Libya, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

    An official tells Reuters the new policy is “much more tailored to what the intel is telling us, what the threat is telling us, as opposed to stopping all individuals of a particular nationality or all individuals using a particular passport.”

    The president is expected to detail the new policy later today.

    We hand-pick everything we recommend and select items through testing and reviews. Some products are sent to us free of charge with no incentive to offer a favorable review. We offer our unbiased opinions and do not accept compensation to review products. All items are in stock and prices are accurate at the time of publication. If you buy something through our links, we may earn a commission.

    Top Fares From